Does the Paint Come Out?

A local group of preschool teachers and directors asked me to come and show the art materials (paint mostly) that are available at Discount School Supply. Although I do numerous workshops each year, I haven’t done a hands-on art workshop in a long time. We have renovated our entire house this summer so much of my teaching stuff is still in storage, including aprons. I dressed up today for the workshop and began demonstrating Biocolor and Liquid Watercolor paints. As I opened one jar of purple paint, it shot with an air bubble out of the lid and onto my (new) shirt. The label says ‘washable.’ Thank goodness when I got home I found that it really was washable. It brought back many memories of how I would dress and plan for clean up when I was a teacher. I never let mess keep me from providing a fun project for the children, but I think I had forgotten just how messy it is! At least the purple paint is gone and the teachers have new materials and ideas. A win-win.

5 responses

  1. I truly agree with what you are saying. Sometimes as early childhood educators we find that we have to clean up a mess or we are a mess by the time we get home. I don’t believe in not dressing my best for my students. I believe that even if I do get my good clothes dirty these clothes are not as important as getting across a point or teaching my children to be successful.

  2. i always tell the parents of the children in my classroom that if their clothes are dirty and not tucked in anymore than it means that they had a good day. i personally have special clothes that i will only wear to work, well they are not as much special as they stained and dirty from play doh and bleach. i feel that part of the job is getting dirty and i dont mind it at all.

  3. I teach preschool at a local public school. The parents of our 3 year olds think that these kids should be getting ready for kindergarten by tracing their names, learning their ABC’s and 1,2,3’s. I would love to find some articles that would convince them – we need to just let kids be kids! Let them get messy and fingerpaint and play in the dirt. That’s how we learned wen we were kids!

  4. This is absolutely LUDACRIS~

  5. What on earth is this monstrosity

Leave a Reply

