The End is the Beginning..

I recently had a friend graduate from high school as the valedictorian. We always knew he was very intelligent and would do well. I would take Tom to the library when he was young and he would check out 20-25 books. This made me a bit nervous until his dad assured me that he would get through them all during the three-week checkout time. I remember watching a program with him on the History Channel about how thimbles were made. That is the last thing I wanted to know, but I watched it with him as he was so engrossed in the program. I also remember a discussion with him about nuclear fusion and what it will eventually be able to do (something I still don’t understand!). Tom was intelligent beyond my abilities years ago. It didn’t surprise me that he was first in his class. What I relish is the fact that everyone around him encouraged and allowed him intellectual freedom. He now starts on a new beginning with the help of a full scholarship to a great university. I wish all children had this great support for development.
2 responses

  1. Hello John,I was excited to see your picture and realize that you are that same Johnny Funk that I was friends with years ago. I attended South Emery Jr High in Ferron and Emery Co High School. I am doing a research paper for a class I am taking here at Indiana University. I am in my last semester of my Bachelors degree.Congratulations on your accomplsihments.I am Susan Bean Humphrey.

  2. Just found your blog. Those of us in early childhood don’t always enjoy “seeing” the results of a childhood such as your friends. I was strunk by your closing comment: I do think it’s time more of us stop “wishing” and figure out a way to make this kind of childhood work for more than a few.

Leave a Reply

